Skip to content
Haven
Skilled NursingCMS verified

Custer Care and Rehab Center

1065 Montgomery St, Custer, SD 57730 · Custer County

Not yet ratedCMS overall rating(605) 673-2115
—
Unrated
Haven Scout Score
Our composite of CMS ratings, staffing, and safety. This community rates unrated.

A little clarity for your next step

What to know before you visit

Start with the things that matter to your loved one. Use the details below to build your questions, then ask the community what life and care would look like for them.

Reviews reflect individual experiences. Inspection findings describe specific events; missing reports do not mean there were no concerns.

Prepare questions for a visit →

Loading current community photos…

A closer look at the community

Picture your loved one here

Ask to see a room like the one available, its bathroom, dining spaces, and outdoor areas. On a visit, notice how easy it feels to move around and how staff interact with residents.

Our evaluation

A summary of reported federal nursing-home measures. Review the dates and original records below.

A Custer skilled nursing community awaiting a federal rating

Custer Care and Rehab Center is a non-profit skilled nursing facility in Custer, SD, with 43 certified beds.

This community does not yet carry a Medicare overall star rating — often the case for newer facilities or those with a recent ownership change. We recommend requesting its most recent state survey directly.

Strengths

  • ✓No federal fines on record
  • ✓Full sprinkler system
  • ✓Active resident & family council

Questions for your visit

You do not have to know every answer before you visit. Start with these questions and ask for details specific to your loved one.

Topics noted in the summary

  • Not yet assigned a federal overall star rating
  • Can we review the inspection findings together, including what changed and how any corrections were checked?

    Review the federal care record →
  • Could we speak with current residents or families about daily life and how concerns are handled?

    Read the review sources →
  • What would the full monthly cost be for my loved one, and which care services or one-time charges are extra?

    Review pricing details →
  • How would you assess my loved one’s needs, and what happens if those needs change?

Keep your answers in the tour planner →
Best for: Families considering this community should tour in person, request the latest survey, and weigh it against higher-rated Custer options — our advisors can help you compare.

At a glance

Certified beds
43
Avg. residents/day
—
Ownership
Non profit - Corporation
Part of a chain
Not reported
Continuing care
No
CMS provider #
435136

Federal quality ratings

From the U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), on a 1–5 star scale.

Overall rating
Not yet rated
Health inspections
Not yet rated
Staffing
Not yet rated
Quality measures
Not yet rated

Pricing & cost

Planning estimates are not a community quote. Ask the community for current rates and an itemized list of required charges.

Level of careMonthly costSource
Skilled Nursing
$8,440–$10,340/mo (modeled range)

2024–2026 published survey medians, state median adjusted to local Rapid City prices (BEA regional price parities). Request a quote for exact pricing. Range spans semi-private to private rooms.

Local market estimate

Published starting prices and market estimates may exclude additional fees. Request a current, itemized quote for your care needs. How we estimate costs

Request exact pricing for Custer Care and Rehab Center →

Safety & inspection record

Reported federal nursing-home measures. Missing values are not a clean-record finding; check the original source for current information.

Health deficiencies (last survey)
—
Federal fines
0 reported
Total penalties
0
Last standard survey
2025-08-26
Sprinkler system
Yes
Resident & family council
Resident

Requirements cited by inspectors

The most recent findings from federal health inspections (17 citations on record — showing the latest 8). The count is not a count of unique incidents.

Find a detail in these citations

Search the entries displayed here. The original record may contain additional findings.

Showing 8 of 8 citation entries on this page.

2025-08-26F0628Severity F — potential for harmCorrection status not retained; check the original reportResident Rights Deficiencies

Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies.

2025-08-26F0727Severity F — potential for harmCorrection status not retained; check the original reportNursing and Physician Services Deficiencies

Have a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis.

2025-08-26F0851Severity F — potential for harmCorrection status not retained; check the original reportAdministration Deficiencies

Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.

2025-08-26F0865Severity F — potential for harmCorrection status not retained; check the original reportAdministration Deficiencies

Have a plan that describes the process for conducting QAPI and QAA activities.

2025-08-26F0880Severity F — potential for harmCorrection status not retained; check the original reportInfection Control Deficiencies

Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.

2025-08-26F0637Severity E — potential for harmCorrection status not retained; check the original reportResident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies

Assess the resident when there is a significant change in condition

2025-08-26F0641Severity E — potential for harmCorrection status not retained; check the original reportResident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies

Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.

2025-08-26F0655Severity E — potential for harmCorrection status not retained; check the original reportResident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies

Create and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admitted

Severity uses the CMS scope/severity scale: D–F = potential for harm, G–I = actual harm, J–L = immediate jeopardy. Source: CMS Care Compare health citations; data as of the latest federal release. Discuss any finding directly with the community on a tour.

Services and details to confirm

These topics come from source records and community websites. They do not confirm that a service is currently offered, available, or included in the price.

  • Full automatic sprinkler system
  • Medicare & Medicaid certified
  • 24-hour licensed nursing
  • On-site rehabilitation therapy

Make it specific to your loved one

Ask which services are provided at this location, who provides them, and whether they cost extra. For care or therapy, ask about the assessment required and what happens if needs change.

Keep questions in your visit plan →

Location

1065 Montgomery St, Custer, SD

Reviews & reputation

Reviews, when available, are shown with their source. Review ratings are separate from licensing and inspection records.

Family reviews

No family reviews are available on Haven for Custer Care and Rehab Center.

Ask the community about speaking with current residents or families. Use your tour planner to record what you learn and questions to follow up on.

Prepare questions for your tour

Common questions about Custer Care and Rehab Center

How much does Custer Care and Rehab Center cost?

Custer Care and Rehab Center has no current published quote for skilled nursing in Haven records. The local market planning estimate is $8,440–$10,340 per month (modeled range). 2024–2026 published survey medians, state median adjusted to local Rapid City prices (BEA regional price parities). Request a quote for exact pricing. Range spans semi-private to private rooms. This is not a community quote. Ask for a current, itemized price.

What did inspectors find at Custer Care and Rehab Center?

Custer Care and Rehab Center has 17 health citations on its recent federal inspection record (last standard survey: 2025-08-26). The full citation-by-citation detail, with severity levels, is published on this page.

What types of care does Custer Care and Rehab Center offer?

Custer Care and Rehab Center in Custer, SD offers skilled nursing and is licensed for 43 beds.

Prepare a care shortlist in Rapid City

Compare care fit, costs and admission requirements before a move. Timelines and openings vary by community.

  • Ask which assessments and documents are required before admission.
  • Confirm current openings, waitlist procedures and whether touring reserves anything.
  • Request an itemized written quote and review deposit and cancellation terms.

Your next steps

  1. 1
    Confirm the fit
    Review licensing records, reported services and available inspection information against the person's care needs.
  2. 2
    Get a written quote
    Contact Custer Care and Rehab Center directly for current rates, care charges, openings and admission requirements.
  3. 3
    Tour and compare
    Use the same questions at each community. Ask about staffing, daily routines, total costs and changes in care needs.
  4. 4
    Review terms before paying
    Ask for written deposit, refund, cancellation and move-in terms. Confirm what any payment reserves.
Data sources:CMS verifiedGoogle

Haven record updated 2026-08-24. We show imported source information. This date does not establish when a license was last checked.

More communities to compare

Records in Rapid City, SD with a shared care category and available coordinates, ordered by approximate distance. This is not a complete list of nearby communities. Confirm that each community can meet your specific care needs.

Photo not availableSkilled Nursing
Loading community photo…

Rapid City, SD · 44 beds

5.0CMS rating

4.4/5 Google · 31 reviews · retrieved 2026-08-03

11 federal inspection citations on file · view findings & dates →
Skilled NursingContinuing Care (CCRC / Life Plan)93% reported occupancy

One of Rapid City's top-rated skilled nursing communities.

Skilled Nursing pricingCurrent community price not reported · ask the community
View community details →